Latest News -

 Group Horse - Subscribe for our 10 Dark Horses 

Tuesday 22 March 2016

Grand National 2016 - Record Breakers

The Grand National is one of the most prestigious horse races on the national hunt calendar. It is held annually at Aintree, Liverpool, and remains a spectacle with race fans throughout the world. 

This handicap steeplechase is run over 4 miles, three-and-half furlongs, covering thirty fences, consisting of two challenging laps.

It's known as the ultimate test of horse and rider. The Grand National 2016 - is a race to savour.

With total win and place prize money of £1,000,000 owners, trainers & jockeys take aim at the greatest steeplechase in the world. For most who achieve this elusive win, it is credited as the pinnacle of their horse racing career.

Come Saturday, 9th April, 5:15 Aintree the Grand National will come alive. It's a race of tradition, where new stories touch the heart, inspire - to be written into the rich tapestry which makes this race a jewel in the horse racing crown.

In days of old, it was a challenge to finish this race let alone taste glory. In 1839 Lottery, ridden by Jem Mason, won the inaugural race and from that day the great and good have followed in his hoof prints. This race details the most bizarre, outlandish and toe-curling stories. It has made racegoers laugh, cry and shout like demons as their selection races to the line.

The Grand National has changed with time but it remains the ultimate test which only the brave dare challenge. Toothless jockeys, mud-spattered horses and emotional race watchers make this a race few will ever forget. The greatest horse of them all Red Rum, trained by Ginger McCain, won three times.   

It's a race with one history. A history which captures every emotion. Its test etched on the faces in triumph and tears. A bold story of exceptions & records, some that will never be broken.

Grand National: Record breakers

  • The leading horse with the most wins: Red Rum 3 win (1973, 1974, 1977)
  • Leading jockey: George Stevens - 5 wins, (Freetrader 1856 - The Colonel 1869)
  • Leading trainer: George Dockeray - 4 win, including Lottery (1839) - Miss Mowbray (1852)
  • Leading owners: James Octavius Machell (1873 - 1876), Noel Le Mare (Red Rum) (1973 - 1977), Trevor Hemmings (2005 - 2015).
  • Fastest winning time: Mr Frisk (1990) 8 minutes 47.8 seconds.
  • Oldest winning horse: Peter Simple (1853) aged 15
  • Youngest winning horses: 5 - five-year-old (1865 - 1909)
  • Youngest winning jockey: Bruce Hobbs (1938) aged 17
  • Longest winning odds: 5 winners at odds of 100/1 - the latest Mon Mome (2009)
  • Shortest odds winner: Poethlyn (1919) 11/4f
  • Largest field: 66 runners (1929)
  • Smallest field: 10 runner (1883)
  • Most horses to finish: 23 (1984)
  • Fewest horses to finish: 2 (1928)
  • Most rides in the race: 20 (A.P.McCoy, 1995 - 2015)
  • Most rides without winning: 19 (Richard Johnson, 1997 - 2015)

''The ultimate test of horse and rider.''

No comments: